RADSOUND // SOTW: I CAN CHANGE – BRANDON FLOWERS

Originally posted on Radsound

10426547_1050253141657789_2208197704869654662_n

This week’s single comes from the triumphant return of Brandon Flowers with ‘I Can Change’.

Continuing the theme of his 3 recent singles, ‘I Can Change’ follows in fine suit with a rip-roaring dance heavy approach that seems the kind of pop fuelled sound Flowers was always destined to create. Boasting samples from Bronski Beat‘s iconic ‘Smalltown Boy’, a brief cameo from Neil Tennant and a healthy dose of shimmering synths – three vital ingredients for the perfect radio hit. ‘I Can Change’ builds from atmospheric soft harmonies into a melancholic dance-esque track driven by a sharp electronic beat and layers of vocals lost in delays, with Flowers permeating chanted cries of “I can slip/I can slide/I can run/I can hide/blaze a trail through the pouring rain/I can change” likely to be stuck in your head for some time to come. 

With a set of singles so strong and another 20 days until the release of the album, Brandon Flowers is providing the pop sound many dreamed from him for so long, and is already onto a winner with his second solo effort.

