RADSOUND // SOTW: BREAKING MY PHONE – OSCAR

Originally published on Radsound

This week’s single comes from young Londoner Oscar with ‘Breaking My Phone’.
Following the Beautiful Words EP and single ‘Daffodil Days’ gradually propelling the 22 year old into the spotlight with lo fi beats and strikingly luscious vocals, ‘Breaking My Phone’ is the next installment of Oscar’s infectious bedroom pop. With Scheller’s honeyed lyrics depicting an all too relatable self destructive situation – ‘I keep on breaking my phone/after I’ve spoken to you’ – and harsh bites of guitar riling up an anger similar to the sheer helplessness of the situation in mind, the track lets loose the frustration of the everyday in a Britpop-esque style with a rougher, tougher flair of defiance.
‘Breaking My Phone’ is out now via Wichita Records and is only set to send Oscar into further high territories.


